collylogic.com - Simon Collison's weblog

Bloody RSS Feeds!

27th November 2006

Quick heads-up, as they say. My main (RSS 2.0) RSS feed appears to be kaput - or, it is in Bloglines at least. I think the Atom one is OK, but if you don’t mind, could you please upgrade your RSS 2.0 feed to the colly.com version and ditch the collylogic.com version? Thank you, and sorry, but you wouldn’t wanna miss my major news to come later this week, now would you?

Simon Collison published this on 27/11/06, at 6:14 PM

Comments

NewsFire picked this post up ok. Been using colly.com for feeds since Friday instead of old address.

I did get a few double entries earlier today of stuff I’d already read.

Hope thats nugget of information helps.

Also, I think this is my first post here. Very good blog, keep up the good work. Another also, I bought your book which is also very good.

If you say also enough times it sounds like the name of a table sauce.

27/11 at 18:21 from Jon

Oops. Didn’t mean to turn comments on, but I’m glad I did, as feedback on this is useful actually.

I think the main problem is for those using feeds from collylogic.com - some issue for the RSS 2.0 feed, yet the others seem fine.

Maybe it is just bloody Bloglines.

Thanks, Jon…

27/11 at 18:24 from Simon Collison

Whoa… not sure what the previous owners of your domain were up to before, but apparently colly.com is on our company\’s network firewall list of blocked sites!

27/11 at 19:13 from Andrew

Maybe just angry system administrator has blocked it? Because of waste of time of the workers

27/11 at 23:06 from Donald

Hmm - seems to be working in Bloglines again now. Maybe it was a lucky ping…

28/11 at 02:59 from Simon Collison

@David, no the colly.com domain was associated with a porn network and darkestweb.com for the last 5 years[1].  There\’s evidence[2] that the domain was associated with a ton of porn sites a few years back.

It must have just gotten added to a central prefab firewall blacklist that the sysadmin downloaded from somewhere.

[1] - http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.colly.com
[2] - http://cyber.law.harvard.edu/people/edelman/ip-sharing/list-25-detail.html

28/11 at 21:32 from Andrew

It’s good idea to try to remove colly.com from this blacklist as it’s not associated with a porn network anymore :)

28/11 at 22:30 from Ces

What is your name? Where do you live?

05/12 at 15:38 from Austin

:) good!!!

05/12 at 19:16 from Bella

Note that comments are disabled 30 days after articles are published, or sooner if spammers target a particular post. Sorry...